WhatsApp now allows you to delete messages after 2 days, depart teams silently, and provides screenshot blocking

WhatsApp Messenger now permits customers to delete messages even after 2 days. The VOIP service introduced the information through its social media channels.

Previous to this replace, WhatsApp had a reasonably strict time restrict for deleting messages. You would solely achieve this beneath 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. That is a bizarre restrict, is not it?

WhatsApp now allows you to delete messages after 2 days

So, in comparison with the earlier restrict, a 2-day window to delete messages looks as if a pleasant improve. However, here is the factor. Whereas the tweet from the corporate mentions that customers have a little bit over 2 days to delete your messages, it would not specify the precise time restrict. Is it 48-hours because the message was posted? In accordance with TechCrunch, the restrict is definitely 2 days and 12 hours, i.e. 60 hours.

The one catch is that if you delete a message in a WhatsApp chat, it nonetheless leaves behind a “You deleted this message” remnant. Which may look a little bit awkward, particularly when executed in a bunch dialog. That is one other space the place WhatsApp nonetheless has to meet up with its largest rival, Telegram, because it would not depart a mark behind after a deleted message. As a matter of reality, Telegram would not have a time restrict for deleting messages. It even allows you to delete messages despatched by others.

It is unusual that there’s nonetheless no choice to edit messages in WhatsApp, that function might turn out to be useful for modifying typos, including extra info, URLs, pictures, captions, and so forth.

See also  iOS 16 replace to roll out at present, here's what's new in it

Final Seen Standing

whatsapp last seen privacy

WhatsApp will quickly begin permitting customers to decide on which of their contacts can view their final seen standing, whereas hiding the knowledge from different customers. This will add one other layer of privateness.

Picture credit score: The Verge

Depart WhatsApp teams silently

Have you ever ever been part of a bunch, however ultimately stopped chatting there? The factor is, if you attempt to exit the group, WhatsApp marks it with a standing that reads “Consumer left the group.” That may be annoying, as it could get you some undesirable consideration, and you possibly can obtain some messages inquiring why you left the group. That is the very last thing you’ll have needed.

The Meta-owned messaging service has a solution to repair this, it can quickly enable customers to go away teams silently. The upcoming function will solely notify admins of the group, so different members within the group will not see a message if you exit the dialog quietly.

Screenshot blocking

You might remember that WhatsApp helps view as soon as messages, which incorporates media content material. Folks might nonetheless save a duplicate of such messages by taking a screenshot on their cell phone. This posed a privateness problem for customers.

Screenshot blocking is one other privacy-related function that’s coming to WhatsApp Messenger. It can forestall customers from saving self-destructing messages, i.e. view as soon as messages. Telegram has an identical function, referred to as Content material Safety, which prevents customers from copying, saving or forwarding messages. However this restriction is simply out there for Telegram Channels.

See also  Telegram replace brings protected content material in teams and channels

The enhancements for final seen standing, screenshot blocking, and exiting teams privately will quickly be out there for customers, on cell and desktop.

What do you consider these new WhatsApp options?

Commercial